Tuesday, 19 July 2011


The shortlist for the 20th Barclaycard Mercury Music Prize has just been announced. The influential annual prize is awarded to the best UK & Ireland album of the year. The nominations are chosen by a selected panel of musicians, music executives, journalists and other important figures of the British music industry. This year's nominees are:

- PJ Harvey Let England Shake
- James Blake James Blake
- Adele 21
- Anna Calvi Anna Calvi
- Tinie Tempah Disc-Overy
- Gwilym Simcock Good Days at Schloss Elmau
- Metronomy The English Riviera
- Elbow Build a Rocket Boys!
- Everything Man Alive
- Katy B On a Mission
- Ghostpoet Peanut Butter Blues and Melancholy Jam
- Kin Creosote and Jon Hopkins Diamond Mine

As you already know, we are hugely fond of Metronomy, but this is definitely a tough one to call. Good luck to all!

No comments:

Post a Comment